top of page

Updated - Meeting One: Diversity and Inclusion in STEM

Our first meeting is in 45 minutes! I've prepared this PowerPoint to guide this introductory session. I'll update about how it goes.

UPDATE: Well, I talked a lot. Matt (Lovern) assures me that it being the introductory session and with me being the introducer that this is perfectly acceptable. It is my hope that in future meetings there will be a great deal of discussion.

Matt did say something, however, that stuck with me. I've been turning it over and over it my head. It seem like such an obvious thing but to hear it said out loud was powerful.

He pointed out that part of our code of conduct is "If someone tells you something, believe them" following up with the fact that he, as a white male, will not experience and probably not even see prejudice. Therefore, he has no place saying something like "There's no discrimination on campus, I've never seen it!"

Bottom line, if someone tells you something about their own experience, believe them.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page